Some patients can’t be saved, but that burden’s not on you.

March 4, 2010

I came across The Antlers yesterday on Amazon—it was their daily deal, $2.99 for the whole album “Hospice”. The caption said if you like Death Cab For Cutie (who I love) or Grizzly Bear (who? ok, so I’m not that well musically educated) then you’ll probably dig The Antlers. I started reading the reviews and it seemed that Hospice was a concept album about a hospice worker that falls in love with a terminal cancer patient. Whoa. That shit’s serious.

I’m a sucker for a good story concept (and cheap music in the vein of Death Cab) so I bought the album. I’ve been listening to it nonstop, though I have yet to really focus on the lyrics and story, I’m really liking the music. I tend to go for really calm, chill music because I find I can listen to it and work, enjoying the music without getting too distracted (god knows I already have enough of that going on already…I’m looking at you, Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Gmail, Gchat, and Google Reader). I did some investigating on the band and it seems the story is party true and partly an analogy for an abusive relationship. In the words of the lead singer, Peter Silberman: “A hospice can be representative of what emotional and psychological abuse can do. Let’s say as a hospice worker, you’re taking a lot of verbal abuse from someone who is dying, cause they’re, absolutely and rightfully so, bitter about what’s happening and feeling like it’s completely unfair, which it most obviously is. And you’re in the position of feeling like you have no right to complain about your situation because it’s so much worse for them. So you think the least I can do is give them a punching bag.” (from an interview with Tripwire).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

